웨스트미스 룩아웃에 쏟아진 페르세우스자리 유성우(Perseid Outburst at Westmeath Lookout)

웨스트미스 룩아웃에 쏟아진 페르세우스자리 유성우(Perseid Outburst at Westmeath Lookout)

0 68
Image Credit & Copyright: Pierre Martin

올해 폭발적으로 찾아온 페르세우스자리 유성우는 하늘을 보는 이들을 놀라게 했다. 이 인상적인 유성우의 극대기는 8월 12/13일 밤에 찾아올 것으로 예측되었다. 하지만 북아메리카의 관측자들은 하루 늦게 페르세우스자리 유성우가 폭발적으로 쏟아지는 것을 목격했고, 8월 14일 이른 시간 1분 그리고 1초에 여러 개의 유성우가 쏟아지는 것을 목격했다. 유성우의 방사점은 이 깜깜한 밤하늘을 찍은 합성 사진 높이 걸려있다. 이 사진은 온타리오, 웨스트미스 룩아웃에서 8월 14일 0650 UT (02:50am EDT)과 0900 UT (05:00am EDT) 사이에 폭발적인 유성우가 쏟아지는 동안 282개의 페르세우스자리 유성을 찍은 것이다. 물론 매년 찾아오는 페르세우스자리 유성우는 행성 지구가 주기 혜성 109P/스위프트-터틀의 궤적을 지나면서 부스러기를 지나갈 때 찾아온다. 2021년 혜성 대폭발은 더 넓은 부스러기 지역 속의 높은 밀도 영역을 지나면서 마주한 예상치 못한 페르세우스자리 유성우 띠와 만나면서 벌어진 결과로 생각된다.

Explanation: This year an outburst of Perseid meteors surprised skywatchers. The reliable meteor shower’s peak was predicted for the night of August 12/13. But persistent visual observers in North America were deluged with a startling Perseid shower outburst a day later, with reports of multiple meteors per minute and sometimes per second in the early hours of August 14. The shower radiant is high in a dark night sky in this composite image. It painstakingly registers the trails of 282 Perseids captured during the stunning outburst activity between 0650 UT (02:50am EDT) and 0900 UT (05:00am EDT) on August 14 from Westmeath Lookout, Ontario. Of course the annual Perseid meteor shower is associated with planet Earth’s passage through dusty debris from periodic comet 109P/Swift-Tuttle. The 2021 outburst could have been caused by an unanticipated encounter with the Perseid Filament, a denser ribbon of dust inside the broader debris zone.

Authors & editors: Robert Nemiroff (MTU) & Jerry Bonnell (UMCP)
NASA Official: Phillip Newman Specific rights apply.
NASA Web Privacy Policy and Important Notices
A Service of: ASD at NASA / GSFC & Michigan Tech. U.
Translated by: WouldYouLike Woong-bae Zee

comments powered by Disqus